My Nikon Nightmare – the D600 (Part 4)

I wish I could say my Nikon Nightmare was over, but it isn’t.  As before, here are links to previous posts:

So, at last check, Nikon agreed to send me a loaner D600 while they worked on mine.  They also covered shipping.  They got my D600 back to me VERY quickly which was nice.  Of course, I wasn’t exactly holding my breath that the problem was solved.  Let me explain the photo below…

RED CIRCLES: These are spots that showed up on the very first picture I took when I got the camera back from Nikon.  I accidentally deleted a couple circles because there were actually 6 total, not 4.  I got my PS layers mixed up.

PINK CIRCLES: This are the NEW spots that showed up after taking 75 pictures.  Note that I did not even change the lens.  Again, this confirms that the dust, oil, paint, or whatever is causing the spots is coming from inside the camera.

GREEN CIRCLES:  I snapped 55 more pictures and the next test shot revealed just 2 more dust spots.

d600-after-repair

Next, this is a closeup of the photo in the upper right corner.  Holy cow!  Look at the size of that one!!!

d600---zoom-top-right

My Nikon contact asked me to run the sensor cleaning function on the camera a couple of times.  I went ahead and entertained the idea and after two sensor cleanings no spots were removed.  So, now I’m awaiting a response from Nikon as to what we do next.

Oh, and you may be wondering about the loaner D600 they sent to me.  When I received it, a test shot revealed about 6 spots.  Here is the last shot I took before switching back to mine.  There are 48 identifiable spots from the sensor.

loaner

4 responses

  1. Pingback: My Nikon Nightmare – The D600 (Part 3) « Todd Sadowski Photography

  2. Pingback: My Nikon Nightmare – the D600 (Part 2) « Todd Sadowski Photography

  3. Pingback: My Nikon Nightmare – The D600 « Todd Sadowski Photography

  4. Pingback: Nikon addresses the dust/oil issue of the D600 | Arkansas Outdoor Photographers Club

Leave a Reply

